My Collections – coins, stamps, postcards, publications…

Why do we bother to collect things? They end up in boxes or suitcases and stored in garages. Who will want them when I am gone?

I decided today to go through my collections, write some blogs about them, and then maybe send them on their way, to a good home, if I can find one interested in taking them on. Sometimes collections have to be around for a few generations before they are of much value – assuming their value increases with age.

So, my collections include the following:

  • stamps from all over world and mostly 20th Century
  • postcards from all over the world. I also have some special edition ones that came in books eg James Dean
  • miniature, fine china tea sets – I am not in a hurry to let go of them yet
  • coins from various parts of the world. I also have a good collection of Australian coins before we went decimal on the “14th February 1966″as ditty reminded us hundreds of time :-)
  • last, but not least, I have a small collection of newspapers/magazines and I will share them with you today.

  Melbourne Herald 1956

Melbourne Herald 1956English Women's Weekly 1946                                                                                                                                                                  English Women’s Weekly 1946

Melbourne Sun 1962

The West Australian 1 January 2000

The Melbourne Sun 1956                                                                                                                                                      The West Australian 1 January 2000

                                                                                           The West Australian June 2010 - our first female Prime Minister, Julia Gillard West Australian June 2010

Cheers for now

Lorraine

12 thoughts on “My Collections – coins, stamps, postcards, publications…

  1. I have postcards from WW II and British pre-decimal coins and although my stamp collection isn’t large, it’s interesting. I have a sheet of stamps that was presented to the mayor years ago by a visiting foreign dignitary! I must feature the stuff in my blog too, I’ll get around to scanning it one of these days. The postcard collection was started by my grandfather but I doubt if anyone will continue it after I drop off my perch!

    • Hi Mike

      Thanks for visiting my blog. I think the coins, stamps and post cards tell a story of the time they were in circulation. The post cards (posted ones) also have a little bit of someone’s family history. All interesting stuff
      :-)

  2. It’s interesting that a radio 55 years ago cost 15 pounds and you can get a radio from Coles these days for $15. I wonder how much 15 pounds then would be worth in today’s currency.

    • Thanks for visiting! It was a good exercise to talk about my collections. I will do a post on my coins soon. To do that I will have to find them all and organise them and maybe I will find a nice box to put them in :-)

      Have a good day – Lorraine :-)

  3. All of my collections went to good homes five years ago when I downsized, hopefully for the last time. Now it’s just about enjoying life and watching what others choose to collect during their lives.

Leave a Reply

